Hope for Leukemia Patients

http://www.cnn.com/video/#/video/bestoftv/2011/08/11/exp.am.cohen.leukemia.cnn?iref=videosearch

If this research is truly working, this is more than fantastic and almost a miracle, not to mention a dream-come-true for cancer sufferers. What the researchers are able to do with DNA and the chromosomes now is truly amazing.

My family has had its share of deaths from cancer. We have also got some survivors of the dreaded “C”. I am one. I had a swollen thyroid and had to have a biopsy done, so I opted to have the whole thing removed since the doctor said I was going to be on thyroid hormone replacement medications for the rest of my life anyway. The next office visit the doctor told me he was glad I listened to my instincts and had him remove the entire thing, because there was a small pocket of cancer in the middle of the right side of the thyroid. So he would have had to put me back in the hospital to remove the left half, if I hadn’t had him remove it all to begin with. I was more than blessed, because the cancer was contained in its own little sack and no roots had penetrated the inner side of the sack so, therefore, I was spared the suffering caused by chemotherapy or radiation therapy. I was so thankful. God is so awesome and so good to me. I just can’t thank Him enough for all He has done for me.

My mother was not as fortunate. The right side of her throat became swollen in the early 2000’s and the resulting tests showed the right side of her thyroid was enlarged also. They recommended surgery so she under went the removal of her thyroid. She had to undergo radiation pill therapy. She had to take 2 radioactive tablets and stay in the hospital for several days until all the radiation was gone from her body. The tablets were to target the remnants of thyroid tissue that was left attached to her vocal chords. Those remnants couldn’t be removed without damage to the vocal chords, so the radiation was supposed to dissolve the tissue and make the chances of the thyroid regrowing less likely. We didn’t quite understand all the ramifications of the radiation treatment back then. But it seems with every new medical problem that Moma comes up with, it traces back to being caused by the radiation treatment.

Then there’s my Daddy. He passed away from complications from leukemia thirty some years ago. He had a very fast and aggressive form of leukemia. He was diagnosed in May, went into remission in July or August and came out of remission the middle of October and was dead in November. So within six short months, we were devastated with the diagnosis, hopeful with the remission, then devastated once again when he came out of remission, then totally devastated by his death. My Daddy was 46! Far too young to have passed away from this dreaded killer.

That is why I am truly hopeful that this researchers are really in fact on to something with this new technique of attacking the cancer cells. This will be fantastic news to millions of cancer patients who are trying every new research drug and conventional treatment, not to mention those where the conventional treatments have failed and now they are relying on the alternative treatments, or even those faithful souls who rely on the alternative treatments without going the conventional route, because they don’t want to suffer through all the effects that chemo or radiation put you through. Or even those that are not fortunate enough to be allowed to participate in the research panels for the new treatments.

I have a friend that is currently involved in research trial for pancreatic cancer research. So far her results from taking the new drug are going good. But who’s to say what the effects upon her are going to be in the years to come. I guess in her case, I would be willing to take my chances too, compared to no chance at all without the research trial. Her doctors told her she had no chance of survival without it because her type of cancer is incurable. Stage 4 pancreatic cancer.

So maybe if this new research into the leukemia trials works, maybe the researchers can adapt it for every form of cancer and hopefully one day soon the word cancer will be a thing of the past just like polio was. My family has had more than it’s share of cancer patients, as I’m sure the majority of all of you have had too. Besides me, Moma and Daddy, there’s Moma’s older sister, a first cousin of mine, relatives on both Moma’s and Daddy’s sides of the family. There are many, many friends that have also been affected by cancer. This new research gives us all hope, at least.

May God BLESS each one of you, until next time.

About msmamasramblings

I am a God fearing, Holy Bible believing sinner saved by the grace and mercy of the one and only God, creator of the Heavens and Earth. I was saved by Jesus Christ, the one and ONLY SON of God in 1977. I married the love of my life, next to Jesus, in 1978 and we have been blessed with 3 beautiful children. All three are grown now and they have babies of their own. We are the proud grandparents of 4 precious angels on loan from God above. I don't know what we did before they came along. Life sure must have been boring because it sure hasn't been since! I hope you will enjoy the ramblings and rants of an old grandma who is trying to make up for all the years of apathy towards who was elected into all branches of our government beginning here at our local level going all the way to Washington DC. If you don't like my opinion, you are free to exit out of this page. We are THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, we fly THE STARS AND STRIPES, and we sing THE NATIONAL ANTHEM AND WE PRAY EVERY CHANCE WE GET TO THE ONE AND TRUE GOD, of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob, NOT Allah, Buddha, Mohammed or the Dali Lama! If you don't like it, you are FREE to leave this country and live in one that suits you more than America does, there are thousands to chose from and I'll even help you pack!!
This entry was posted in Medical/Health, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

