How Do You “Like” The New Light Bulb?

I just read a blog called, “Lights out – time for incandescents”,  in The Heartlander http://wp.me/1jWlU, he gives two reasons in his opinion why the government should not force us to use a certain type of light bulb.

The two reasons, from his article are as follows:

“First, fluorescent light gives some people migraine headaches, it torments those of us with visual and/or auditory hypersensitivity, and it aggravates ADHD, attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder. (Could that be one reason ADHD rates have gone through the roof the last few decades, as schools have phased out incandescent lights as well as good old-fashioned windows?)

Secondly, compact fluorescent bulbs (CFLs) contain mercury. Have you read the EPA’s official guide on handling CFLs? Heaven help you if you ever break one of the darn things. The first thing you have to do is turn off the air-conditioner or heater (any forced-air system) and open all the windows, so that the mercury vapor released when the bulb broke can be aired out of the house. The guide hasn’t yet been updated to reflect the latest findings that some of the mercury may remain in your house for up to 128 days.

All the materials you use to do the cleanup have to be put into a sealed glass or plastic container and taken to the nearest Household Hazardous Waste (HHW) Disposal Center. If you live in a rural area, as I do, and that center is a long way away, you’ll just have to set aside the container of hazardous stuff in a safe place until your next trip to the big city. But you’d better call ahead; some HHW centers are only open one day a week, or month. (How many whipped American citizens does it take to change a broken light bulb? Three. One to open all the windows, one to keep the children out of the room, and one to call the HazMat team.)”

I respectfully will add a third reason to his list:

They make people physically ill. These bulbs emit some form of a chemical that made me and all three of my grandchildren sick for almost 6 months. I thought I was going to die and no one would be able to tell my family exactly what was the cause. I had decided to “do my part” and change the light bulbs in our home to the new bulbs. We were having a lot of the old bulbs to blow every few weeks and someone had told me the new ones, though they cost more, usually lasted a LOT longer. So I switched every lamp and light fixture to the new ones. It was several days later, I started having trouble breathing, started coughing and was feeling worse and worse every day. I started going to the doctor and was receiving steroids by mouth, injections to help with my breathing plus put on an inhaler and using my nebulizer at least 3 times a day.  A few days after I got sick, my grandchildren, ages, 6, 4 & 3 started getting sick. We all thought that our allergies had started acting up because of the seasonal change that was taking place. So we didn’t think much about it. By the time this had continued on for over 3 months, my doctor said he didn’t believe it was my allergies and started asking questions to see what tests he might need to order. I went through chest x-rays, breathing tests for my lungs and more. One night when I laid down to try to go to sleep, I was saying my prayers and asking God to please show me if there was anything I could do help my grandbabies get well. I had no sooner finished that statement in my mind, than the thought came to me…..light bulbs. I got to thinking and the new light bulbs were the only thing I had changed in my home for the past several months. So I got to noticing when we had the lamps in the living room on and I had the bedside lamp on in our bedroom. There was an odor coming from the lamps when they got hot. I decided when I noticed the odor that those lamps in fact were the cause of our sickness. I replaced every one of the new bulbs with the old type and, believe it or not, within ONE WEEK, I wasn’t coughing any more and all 3 of my babies were well too! These things should be labeled as a health hazard and BANNED from being sold in peoples’ homes! There’s no telling how many people have died from what their families and doctors thought was pneumonia or complications from asthma or breathing or lung problems when in fact they had died from constant contact with these new light bulbs! Didn’t mean to write a book, but wanted to let you know these new bulbs are dangerous. Oh, and I DID tell my doctor what I had done and he was as shocked as I was!

As Heartlander stated in his article, Congress is pushing this type of product on us clearly because of the pressure from Jeff Immelt and all of the money he stands to make with GE the major manufacturer of these supposedly “green bulbs”. Every congressman/woman who voted for this legislation should be ashamed for pushing this obviously toxic product upon the citizens of this nation. As sick as I was from using these bulbs, I know there must be others out there that have been just as sick and maybe are still suffering without knowing why. By writing this post, I hope and pray it has helped someone who is sick and doesn’t know why, maybe you, too have changed the light bulbs in the lamp you sit closest to, to read or the light bulb in your bedside lamp. This could very well be the reason for your sickness or someone in your family being sick.

I pray our elected leaders will rethink what they are doing to the citizens of this country, just to pad the pockets of a few HUGE donors. If they don’t, maybe the hundreds of lawsuits that surely will be forthcoming will!

Until next time, may God BLESS, protect, grant you His wisdom, peace and discernment.

About msmamasramblings

I am a God fearing, Holy Bible believing sinner saved by the grace and mercy of the one and only God, creator of the Heavens and Earth. I was saved by Jesus Christ, the one and ONLY SON of God in 1977. I married the love of my life, next to Jesus, in 1978 and we have been blessed with 3 beautiful children. All three are grown now and they have babies of their own. We are the proud grandparents of 4 precious angels on loan from God above. I don't know what we did before they came along. Life sure must have been boring because it sure hasn't been since! I hope you will enjoy the ramblings and rants of an old grandma who is trying to make up for all the years of apathy towards who was elected into all branches of our government beginning here at our local level going all the way to Washington DC. If you don't like my opinion, you are free to exit out of this page. We are THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, we fly THE STARS AND STRIPES, and we sing THE NATIONAL ANTHEM AND WE PRAY EVERY CHANCE WE GET TO THE ONE AND TRUE GOD, of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob, NOT Allah, Buddha, Mohammed or the Dali Lama! If you don't like it, you are FREE to leave this country and live in one that suits you more than America does, there are thousands to chose from and I'll even help you pack!!
This entry was posted in Political, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How Do You “Like” The New Light Bulb?

  1. CFLs do save energy, but they also contain small amounts of mercury. As this article states, it is important for consumers to realize that CFLs and fluorescent bulbs contain mercury and require special handling. The mercury vapor can be detrimental to handlers’ health—from those involved with handling new bulbs to people involved with storing, packaging and shipping used lamps. Mercury vapor, which can be absorbed through the skin or inhaled, can cause neurological damage, and when it gets into water, it can enter the food chain through fish. Read more about the dangers of mercury exposure here: http://vaporlok.blogspot.com/2010/05/preventing-health-and-safety-hazards.html.

    If a bulb is broken or burns out, it should be properly cleaned up and recycled—it should not be disposed of in landfills. To reduce the risk for mercury vapor exposure, CFLs and fluorescent lamps should be safely handled, stored and transported to recycling facilities in a package that is proven to effectively contain hazardous mercury vapor. Find out more about how to minimize environmental risks and safely package CFLs here: http://vaporlok.blogspot.com/2010/05/layers-of-protection-packaging-used.html
    If a bulb breaks, consumers can learn more about clean-up procedures here: http://www.epa.gov/cfl/cflcleanup-detailed.html

    • Thank you, Brad for all of the information. I don’t plan on using those CFL bulbs any more since I am finally well. My grandchildren haven’t had any more problems since I removed them all from my home either. Thanks for stopping by my page and passing along all of this information. I hope this will help someone else that is trying to figure out how to deal with these new bulbs. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

